Leftovers & My Favorite Baby Food Recipes

I have talked at great length about my baby food making experiences and how much I love my BEABA Babycook! I have taken a couple of weekends off from making baby food because of traveling out of town and was so happy to get back home and start making baby food again. The store bought stuff is really bland and tastes about the same! A couple of you have asked me to share some of my favorite recipes and I thought I would share this quick tip!

After a 7 hour car trip the other day, we stopped at the grocery store and bought a rotisserie chicken. I made some applesauce in my Babycook and then threw in the leftover chicken. I tasted it and it was good but definitely needed something. That is when my husband, the chef gave me a wonderful book from his culinary school days! It list food matches for every kind of fruit and vegetable you can think of. So I looked up apples and here is the very condensed list of spices and flavors that best go with apples:

  • Brown sugar
  • Calvados
  • Caramel
  • Cheese
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Cream
  • Custard
  • Ginger
  • Lemon
  • Nutmeg
  • Pepper, black
  • Raisins
  • Rum
  • Vanilla

    baby food, making baby food, organic, organic baby food

    Making baby food is not only easy, it is fun too!

  • Walnuts

I opted out of adding alcohol and nuts to my meal but the others sounded great. So I added a little ground cloves to my chicken and applesauce concoction and it was PERFECT! Not to mention my babe loved it!

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

