Is My Baby Hot?

Last month Sunbeam had his first ear infection. (He almost made it to three-years without ever having one.) So I scooted him off to the doctor’s office where he was subscribed amoxicillin.  However ever since then he just seems warm to the touch. This occurs about every two days, and when I take his temperature it will register around 99.1-99.5 degrees.

Yesterday was Firecracker’s turn for a doctor’s visit. Unfortunately for him he only made it nine months before his first ear infection. While we were there I had the doctor check out Sunbeam — only to be told that he hasn’t had a low-grade fever at all — not unless it reaches 100.4. (99.4 if taken under the arm).

My knowledge of low-grade fevers has been shattered. I always thought a low-grade fever kicked in at 99 degrees. Now I am even more confused when I search the internet.

Healthline.com says:

A child has a fever when their temperature is at or above one of these levels:

  • 100.4 °F (38 °C) measured in the bottom (rectally)
  • 99.5 °F(37.5 °C) measured in their mouth (orally)
  • 99 °F (37.2 °C) measured under their arm (axillary)

An adult probably has a fever when their temperature is above 99 – 99.5 °F (37.2 – 37.5 °C), depending on what time of the day it is.

Obviously this new mother is still learning the ropes of motherhood. However I’m curious to know what advice your pediatrician has given you?

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rose Stevenson said,

    As soon as my baby temperature is 99.0 I have always considered it a fever. 6 children later it amazes me how everything is always changing. I don’t normally rush to the doctor unless they have a temperature beyond 3 days. Honestly if they don’t have any other symptoms like a cough and the doctor says its probably a virus they don’t give you any medication anyway. They say it has to run its course. So don’t be discouraged, I would still watch my child if the temperature is at least 99.0. Now when it gets over 102 I think the child should see a doctor because there is probably an infection of some kind. But thanks for new tips on the different grades of temperature based on where you take it!

  2. 2

    Bloom Maternity said,

    Thanks Rose! I’ve always been on the same page as you. Just didn’t realize that 99 was a fever in kids.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

