Striding into Shape

If you happen to know me personally, you know that exercise and I aren’t best friends. I would like to be good friends with an exercise routine, but I’ve never hit that adrenline high to where I crave to get my heart beating and sweat dripping.

So it came as a surprise to my husband when I joined Stroller Strides of San Antonio. I had been using the excuse of not having the time to exercise because of the baby. Or the timing of classes never worked with my schedule. However I knew about Stroller Strides and casually glanced at their mailings that I had signed up for via email.

Then a couple of weeks ago I received a promotion offer — the first five people to respond would have their registration fee waived. I’m a sucker for contests so I immediately responded. Thirty-seconds later the phone rang and before I knew it I was signed up for the next day’s Stroller Strides class.

What had I gotten my lazy muscles into?

The group I belong to is new, and it fits my morning schedule and area of town perfectly — we meet at Brackenridge Park next to the zoo. I arrived slightly late (due to a diaper change) and met my instructor Amanda and another participant Christina. After brief introductions we started into our warm ups: jumping up and down, twisting side-to-side, working up a quick sweat in this humid Texas weather. Then off we power walked through the park.

Amanda, my instructor, alternates power walking with intervals of strength and body toning exercises using exercise tubing, benches and/or walls, and then a little bit of yoga at the end. Usually each routine offers a low impact option for the physically out of shape, like myself. But then I’ve discovered that the low impact versions are also good if you have a full bladder.

For each class you’ll need a stroller (baby optional), water, snack for baby, a small towel (you will get sweaty), and mat.

Thus far I’ve survived three classes, and am gingerly walking through my house because I’ve terrorized muscle groups that have laid dormant for years.

I know this is a good thing.

Another good thing? This unique program provides moms with the opportunity to meet other moms and engage in playgroups with their babies. Yesterday, all the classes around the city combined at North Star Mall due to the weather and I observed strong bonds amongst the mothers. They were all good friends.

Even if you don’t live in San Antonio, there is likely a Stroller Strides class in your area. Stroller Strides claims to have 1,200 locations in 44 states. All classes are taught by certified and specially trained fitness instructors.

Stroller Strides is truly wonderful for any level of exerciser, take if from me. My only regret is not joining sooner, right after my baby was born. This would have made transitioning from a professional to a stay at home mom so much easier.

If you live in San Antonio and would like to see what Stroller Strides is all about, please join me for the Brackenridge Park Grand Opening on Wednesday, March 28, 9:30 a.m.

To Celebrate their Grand Opening, they will have a fun free class with goodie bags, raffle items, treats for the kids including cookies from Lily’s Cookies and a Special 15 Minute Mat Exercise Led By Studio A:Pilates.

The Bloom Blog was not compensated for this review of Stroller Strides.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] at Bloom Maternity’s Bloom Blog turned me on to a free Stroller Strides class on Wednesday, March 28, at 9:30 a.m. at their Brackenridge Park Grand Opening. Even if you’re […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

