My (New) Best Buy Experience {Giveaway 1 of 5 CLOSED}

Best Buy General Manager George Cunningham

Best Buy General Manager George Cunningham

Walking into our local Best Buy store to witness first hand their new layout — I was immediately greeted by the General Manager George Cunningham. I spent about 10-15 minutes of his precious time having him tell me about the changes at Best Buy and what I could expect to find in the store.

Why was his time precious? Because he spends about one to one and a half days training every new employee. That adds up over the year — and is part of Best Buy’s improved and enhanced employee induction class: the General Managers are now responsible for training versus line staff.

The first thing that struck me (besides thinking the outer entrance had an overhaul) was the super functional store layout. When you first enter, there are a couple of entry aisles that sweep you right into the middle of the store to their Solutions Center (more on that later). The aisles fan out from the middle of the store to the outer walls. It’s as if the whole store has been feng shui’d, making the customer feel invited to come into the store and start wandering around all their different departments.

Best Buy Signage

And speaking about different departments — just from standing at the entrance you can look around the whole store and see exactly where you need to go thanks on their signage package. The blue sign towards the ceiling squares off the center of the store and you can tell where everything is located.

So far there are four stores in San Antonio (and perhaps more in other markets) that have all gone through the Best Buy’s Connected Digital Store 2.0 (CDS 2.0) remodel. Part of the CDS 2.0 remodel includes:

  • An expanded Geek Squad precinct, which can help make understanding your gadgets easier
  • Eye-level displays creating more opportunities to play with and discover the technology you love
  • Digital registers located throughout the store to streamline the check-out process so you can get in and out faster than ever
  • New in-store digital displays that update as often as our products do so you can be in-the-know with the latest information on all your favorite brands

Some other changes in a CDS 2.0 store include separating an online purchaser from customer Service. This is a smart, smart move on Best Buy’s behalf. Who wants to stand inline for 5-10 minutes listening to a customer’s issue while you’re excited to pick up that new iPad you just ordered from home?

The online purchases has been moved to the Outbound Checkout side of the store and have their own counter.  Along the wall is also some hidden storage shelving to stash items that are waiting to be picked up by the new owners. This makes the whole experience super fast — you don’t have to wait for your checkout person to go digging for it back in the warehouse.

Best Buy Checkout

Online purchases checkout has been moved from the customer service side of the store to checkout.

The store I visited looked larger than before — however the reality is they lost retail footage to accommodate the warehouse. That hasn’t stopped them from stocking the store to the hilt with everything a digital home might need. I was impressed with their inventory of TVs, computers, stereos, refrigerators, stoves, washers, dryers, movies, DVDs. A vast improvement over what was in stock just a few months ago when I was needing an accessory for my iPad.

To learn more about the Best Buy experience, be sure to visit their website here.

Best of all, Best Buy is providing The Bloom Blog five gift certificates to give away to five of our lucky readers! Be sure to check back for more posts about my New Best Buy experience that will include must haves for Christmas, their new Solutions Center, and expectant Dad and Best Buy Sales Agent Jared — who shared with me his must have camera for when baby arrives. You’re going to be surprised with his outside the box thinking. It’s just genius.

Congrats to Sara D. for being our
 Rafflecopter giveaway winner!

This giveaway ends entries on Sunday, Nov. 18 at 11:59 p.m. EST. The winner will be announced in this post, and notified by email. The winner will have 48 hours to get back in touch with The Bloom Blog before we move on to the winner.  Good luck!

The Bloom Blog was provided products to give away in this contest, and also to keep for her own use or for review.

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rose said,

    AWESOME! Would LOVE an IPAD from BestBuy!

  2. 2

    I would love for Santa to bring me a new tripod!

  3. 3

    I’d like Santa to bring me a T3i (camera)!!

  4. 4

    I’d love a new laptop from Santa.

  5. 5

    Jen Hatton said,

    I would like Santa to bring me a new iPad and a carrying case for my Macbook Air 🙂

  6. 6

    Ashley said,

    I’d like Santa to bring me an iPad

  7. 7

    jacob resendez said,

    id like for santa to bring me a $25 dollar gift card from best buy so i can buy all the candy in the checkout line at best buy, if they still have them (**crosses fingers**)!!!

    • 8

      Bloom Maternity said,

      This totally cracks me up. I can’t remember if I saw candy in the checkout lane or not! Something to investigate next time.

  8. 9

    I want santa to give me some fun christmas movies to watch with munchkin!

  9. 10

    debbie jackson said,

    some movies like john wayne

  10. 11

    Janice said,

    new tv (though I’m dreaming too big. Lol)

  11. 12

    Margarita DeLeon said,

    I’d love for Santa to bring me a new DVD player. 🙂

  12. 13

    Julie said,

    a new freezer thanks 🙂

  13. 14

    laurajacobson said,

    I w3ould love Santa to bring me a camera!

  14. 15

    laurajacobson said,

    I would love Santa to bring me a camera!

  15. 16

    Elena said,

    I woud like an iPhone from Santa

  16. 17

    […] gift cards to give away this week.  This post is for Gift Card #2. If you missed the first one, click here to see if that giveaway is still open for you to […]

  17. 19

    Leidy said,

    All I want for Christmas is a new laptop -singing 🙂 . My computer has keys that don’t work and the life battery is not that good either, I would love to get a new one, I have been a good girl, I think I deserve it 🙂

  18. 20

    […] week I’m sharing my new Best Buy experience with gift card giveaways here and here. Be sure to enter both. Then scroll down and enter for a third chance to win another Best […]

  19. 21

    alaine said,

    I’d love an iphone!

  20. 22

    Jennifer Marie said,

    I would like santa to bring me a new oven from Best Buy.

  21. 23

    Kim D. said,

    I’d like Santa to bring me camera.

  22. 24

    steff said,

    a new vaccuum!

  23. 26

    Tabathia B said,

    I would love a new desktop computer

  24. 27

    KATHY DALTON said,

    i would like Santa to bring me an ipad

  25. 28

    Thomas Murphy said,

    I would love a new computer


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

